MADD Honors East Texas Law Enforcement as DWI Heroes

TYLER, Texas (KETK) — Mothers Against Drunk Driving honored police officers for removing drunk drivers from the roads at their annual Take the Wheel law enforcement recognition event they call them DWI heroes.

On Wednesday, the group held a ceremony honoring officers for their commitment to keeping drivers safe. MADD honored the brave men and women of the Smith and Henderson county departments.

“We cannot go out and arrest people. So we have to rely on them to do that. And we know that if law enforcement is visible, people are less likely to commit this crime,” said Kathy Davidson, MADD Program Specialist.

She also says officers receive awards for their leadership, educating young people and training other officers. All the things that are crucial as the number of drunk drivers continues to climb.

“Law enforcement plays a vital role in combating drunk driving – and it often comes at a high cost. Each year, nationwide, officers arrest more than one million DUI or DWIs that no longer compromise the safety of our roads.Every accident, every injury and every death impacts not only the person involved in the accident, but also their family, friends, classmates, co-workers and more. Each of these injuries and deaths are 100% preventable,” MADD said in a statement.

MADD awarded the following awards:

Education Award Nominees

  • MP Sean McClanahan – SCSO
  • MP Tony Rucker – SCSO
  • Ofc. Luis Aparicio – Tyler PD

Leadership Award Nominees

  • sergeant. Steven Anderson – Bullard PD
  • Ofc. Robert Trombley – Lindale PD
  • Ofc. Jared Shurley – Lindale PD
  • Deputy Ryan Edmonds – SCSO
  • Lieutenant Luke Shafer-Tyler PD

Outstanding Service Award Nominees

  • Ofc. Casi Hammer – Arp PD
  • Corporal Joshua Ames – Athens PD
  • Ofc. Matthew Pierce – Bullard PD
  • Ofc. Brooke Wedgeworth – Lindale PD
  • Assistant Alicia Fitzpatrick – SCSO
  • Deputy Dakota Wade – SCSO
  • Deputy Kevin VanHorn – SCSO
  • Deputy Matthew Pierce – SCSO
  • Sabrina Rodgers Assistant – SCSO
  • MP Thomas Yarberry – SCSO
  • Cavalier Monica Carranza – DPS
  • Rider Ryan Thompson – DPS
  • Ofc. Blake Kelley – Tyler PD
  • Ofc. Gavin Kirkhart – Tyler PD
Previous Texas State Parks shares 6 tips for staying safe
Next State health officials say 12 cases have been discovered