Bastrop County Designated Texas Film Friendly Community

Governor Greg Abbott announced that Bastrop County has been designated as a Film Friendly Texas community by the Texas Film Commission after completing the multi-step training and certification process.

“I congratulate Bastrop County on achieving the Film Friendly Texas designation and joining its member cities of Smithville, the first Film Friendly Texas community ever certified, as well as Elgin and Bastrop,” Governor Abbott said in A press release.


Governor Abbott adds, “Through the Film Friendly Texas training and certification process, communities large and small are ready to help local businesses meet production needs, create jobs for members of the ‘Texas-based team and local residents, as well as drive -site spending in local small businesses.’

Bastrop County joins 150 Film Friendly Texas communities who receive ongoing training and guidance from the Texas Film Commission on media industry standards, best practices, and how to effectively host on-location filming activities in their community.


Texas State Senator Sarah Eckhardt, Texas State Rep. John Cyrier, and Bastrop County Director of Tourism and Economic Development Adena Lewis also praised Bastrop County for its designation in the press release.

The Texas Film Commission of the Governor’s Office of Economic Development and Tourism Division attracted $1.66 billion in local spending and created more than 157,000 production jobs statewide from 2007 to 2020. It celebrates 50 years of service helping to grow local jobs and economies by promoting the Lone Star State as a premier destination for film, television, advertising, animation, visual effects and video game production.

Previous Elon Musk says SpaceX and Tesla are looking for ways to help the Texas community amid brutal winter storm
Next Sempra Energy Announces $1 Million in Funding to Support Texas Community Efforts - Port Arthur News